

Q

Department

for Business Innovation & Skills

See more information about this Independent report

Independent report

Nurse review of research councils: advisory group members

Updated 18 May 2015

Contents

- **1.** Professor Lord Sushantha Kumar Bhattacharyya, Kt, CBE, FREng, FRS
- 2. Professor Muffy Calder, OBE, FRSE, FREng
- 3. Professor Sir David Eastwood, DL, FRHistS
- 4. Dame Janet Finch, DBE, DL, FAcSS
- 5. Dr Paul Golby, CBE, FREng
- 6. Professor Ottoline Leyser, CBE, FRS
- **7.** Professor Molly Stevens, FREng, FIMMM, FRSC, FRPharmS. FSB
- 8. Professor Terry Wyatt, FRS

↑Contents

The members of the advisory group which will support Sir Paul Nurse in his review of research councils.

Professor Lord Sushantha Kumar Bhattacharyya, Kt, CBE, FREng, FRS

Professor and Chairman of the Warwick Manufacturing Group. Lord Bhattacharyya was one of the founding members of the Prime Minister's Council for Science and Technology. He is an adviser to many governments and manufacturing companies worldwide on matters of science and technology.

Professor Muffy Calder, OBE, FRSE, FREng

Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Science and Engineering at Glasgow University, and formerly Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland.

Professor Sir David Eastwood, DL, FRHistS

Vice-Chancellor, University of Birmingham and Chair of the Russell Group.

Sir David is a former Chief Executive at the Higher Education Funding

Council for England, and former Chief Executive of the Arts and Humanities

Research Board (now the Arts and Humanities Research Council). He is a

Board Member of Universities UK.

4.

Dame Janet Finch, DBE, DL, FAcSS

Honorary Professor of Sociology at the Morgan Centre for Research into Everyday Lives, University of Manchester. Previously Dame Janet was Vice-Chancellor at Keele University.

5.

Dr Paul Golby, CBE, FREng

Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council.

Previously Dr Golby was Chief Executive of E.ON UK. He is a member of the Prime Minister's Council for Science and Technology, Chairman of Engineering UK and Chairman of the Board for NATS.

6.

Professor Ottoline Leyser, CBE, FRS

Professor of Plant Development and Director of the Sainsbury Laboratory at the University of Cambridge. Professor Leyser chairs the Royal Society Science Policy Advisory Group and until recently was Deputy Chair of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics.

7.

Professor Molly Stevens, FREng, FIMMM, FRSC, FRPharmS, FSB

Professor of Biomedical Materials and Regenerative Medicine in the Department of Materials and Department of Bioengineering at Imperial College London, and the Research Director for Biomedical Material

Sciences in the Institute of Biomedical Engineering.

8.

Professor Terry Wyatt, FRS

Professor of Physics, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester. Professor Wyatt works on the ATLAS particle physics experiment at the CERN Large Hadron Collider and is a member of the Scientific Policy Committee of CERN.

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Employing people	How government works
Environment and countryside	
Housing and local services	<u>Departments</u>
Money and tax	<u>Worldwide</u>
Passports, travel and living abroad	<u>Policies</u>
	<u>Publications</u>
Visas and immigration	<u>Announcements</u>
Working, jobs and pensions	<u>Announcements</u>
	Environment and countryside Housing and local services Money and tax Passports, travel and living abroad Visas and immigration

<u>Help Cookies Contact Rhestr o Wasanaethau Cymraeg</u>
Built by the <u>Government Digital Service</u>



© Crown copyright

All content is available under the Open Government Licence v3.0, except where otherwise stated